top of page

Grateful

After weeks of working on this project, I have finally finished. Here are some photos showing the process of my work:

First I started drawing the outline of the bear's collar. This 'collar' is iconic to the dancing bear so people know it's Grateful Dead. Then I started filling it in with the lyrics of songs. This was hard to make look good because it was difficult to fit words in the pointy sections. After that I started to fill in the lightning strike behind the bear.

Halfway through drawing in the words for the lightning, I thought about how the font was kind of boring and plain. I found a font called "keep on truckin'" (based on the Grateful Dead). I switched out all the words to the new font by clicking a couple buttons (not that hard). This new font gave the piece more style so it actually looks like the Grateful Dead vibe.

Then after finishing typing all the words (which was VERY hard because I typed every single word individually and shaped it to fit the space) I just worked on the color composition. I wanted the piece to have a 'poster-feel' to it so that it would be cool enough to hang in someone's room. I finally decided to change the background to black and the words to white. FINAL PIECE:

I'm super happy with the way it turned out and it was definitely worth all the hard work!

bottom of page