top of page

Text Project: Typography Art

In most typography art pieces, we see how a variety of different texts are used to create one form. When I decided I wanted to create a typography piece I had no clue what form I wanted make and how I was going to do it.

Manipulating text in Illustrator is hard, so I looked up some tutorials and brainstormed my thoughts in my journal. Projects always end up better with proper planning.

I had decided on using a Grateful Dead logo since I grew up listening to their music and it's legendary. But I wanted to make sure I wasn't copyrighting anything. I was going to use the 'steal you're face' logo or the 'dancing bear logo'. Then I finally came up with the idea to combine the bear and the lightning.

I was excited so I got to work and started my outlines!

Then I started to type in the text. I am using the lyrics of different Grateful Dead songs. For example, I'm using Casey Jones, Box of Rain, Scarlet Begonias, Trucking', and Friend of the Devil.

I'm still not finished because I have to do the bear's collar and lightning strike behind it. I also still need to work on the color scheme. I'll update y'all on the finished

product! :):)

bottom of page